Harrison’s Horn places third

Harrison Central’s Drew Horn finished third during the Eastern Ohio Junior Golf Classic held at Cadiz Country Club Monday.

The Huskies’ standout fired an 82 in the 16-18 division, which was three strokes behind Weirton Madonna’s Mike Rogers.

Other local golfers included Martins Ferry’s Zach Riggenbach (89), Beallsville’s John Dietrich (91), Shadyside’s Nathan Edgar (91), St. Clairsville’s Nate Teater ( 97), Harrison Central’s James Thompson (104), St. Clairsville’s Jim Petrozzi (105), Harrison Central’s James Beckett (106) and Harrison Central’s Matt Hawthorne (126).

In the 13-15 division, Harrison Central’s Austin Kowalski finished tied for fifth with Martins Ferry’s Joel Shane. Both carded 93s.

Martins Ferry’s Logan Miller shot a 113, while Harrison Central’s Ian Sabo (115) and Kyle Neimayer (132) rounded out the locals.

First National Junior Golf Tour

Martins Ferry’s Kaitlyn Bliss won a playoff for second place in the girls’ 16-18 division at Oak Shadows Golf Club in New Philadelphia.

Bliss and Dover’s Courtney Shutt each carded 84s, which was five strokes behind Claymont’s Shelby Thompson.

In the boys’ 16-18 category, St. Clairsville’s Adam Jeffries and Shadyside’s Adam Stupak each fired 79s to tie for eighth. Martins Ferry’s Taylor Shane had an 80 and teammate Andrew Chlon was two strokes back.

Rounding out the locals were Horn at 84; Riggenbach at 91; and Thompson at 105.

Zanesville’s Austin Mills took the title with a 2-under-par 70.

Shadyside Baseball Open

Here are the results of the 15th Annual Shadyside Baseball Open held at Moundsville CC recently. Some 27 foursomes took place in the event. The winning team at 14-under-par was the Chuck Dimmick Team. Runnerup was the Butch Antill Team. In a three-way tie for third, the Tim O’Grady Team came out on top.

Skill prizes went to John Cramer, Wimp Nelms, Eric Magyar, Willie Merryman, Dave Antill, Chris Dimmick, Zac Parker, and Shari Rowan. Skins went to the teams of Dimmick, Andes, Gehrig, and Meintel. Both raffles were won by Shari Rowan.

Tournament Director Gary Cunningham would like to thank the following major sponsors. Dom DeFelice and DeFelice Pizza, Ohio-West Virginia Exc., Kris-Crete Contracting, Bud Melanko Constuction, Matt’s Tiger Pub, Zandrons at Carlini’s Pizza, Adam at Central Grille, and Shirts-N- More. Also thanks to Lori at Wal-Mart, Kim at Value Fresh, Lee Ann at the DQ, and the Shadyside Boosters.

Timbergrove Construction Scramble

The Timbergrove Construction Tournament was recently held, with the foursome of Dan Willming, Kyle Wensel, Jim Druschel and Joe Fatagati claiming the Medal Division top prize with a 54, which was three strokes better than Bob McLaughlin, Chris Bommer, Jose Kosar and Lloyd carmichael’s 57.

Roger Kupfer, Robbie Evans, Pete Barton and John Wakim also fired a 57, while Bob Green, Gary Mercer, Matt DeSantis and Tom Pinkerton carded a 59. Fifth place went to Art Lightner, Dave Slonaker, Bob Geyer and Dave Stauver with a 61.

In the Handicap Division, the foursome of Mike Brickner, Freddie Fitzsimmons, Tony Campbell and Dennis Porter finished first with a 47.

One stroke back was the group of David Coram, Jim Ennis, Tom Mitchell, Josh Foose and Steve Rogers. Finishing third was Dave Yeager, Mike Crow, Mike DeSantis, Jack Kuntz and John Bryan with a 50.

Fourth place went to the team of Nick Klamut, Ron heatherly, Jerry Daugherty and Bob Hoffman with a 53. Finishing in fifth was John Wilson, Russ Travis, Bob Riser and Stan Taylor at 56.