Favede named Distinction Scholar

Cecelia Favede of The Linsly School has been named the recipient of the prestigious Morrill Scholars Program Distinction Scholarship.

The Distinction Award is the Morrill Scholars highest scholarship. The Distinction Scholar Award is a four year full ride academic scholarship and provides full tuition, full cost of room and board, book allowance, miscellaneous educational expenses and a cash allowance for four years. Favede was chosen from a national pool of applicants for the Morrill Scholars Program, one of 60 selected for the interview process and recipient of one of only ten Morrill Scholar Distinction Awards given by The Ohio State University. The Morrill Scholars Program is named in honor of Senator Justin Morrill, author of the 1862 Morrill Act.

Cecelia is the daughter of Dr. Lee and Ginny Favede of St. Clairsville, both of whom attended the Ohio State University.

Additionally, Favede has been honored by being named the State of Ohio Elks Association “Student of the Year 2012.” She was selected based on her exceptional academic achievement, leadership roles and extraordinary community involvement. For this honor she will receive the Southeast District of the State of Ohio Elks Association Student of the Year Scholarship and will be recognized at the Elks State Association Banquet in Columbus in August. Locally, Favede was selected as the Ohio River Valley Elks Student of the Month as well as the Elks Student of the Year.

In addition to her outstanding academic record, Cecelia is involved in an impressive list of extracurricular activities including community leadership and athletics.

At Linsly, Favede earned the position of junior and senior prefect, Linsly’s form of student government, and is a three year member of the National Honor Society and Latin Honor Society. She was named an Advanced Placement Scholar by the College Board and designated as “Top of the Mountain Scholar by Governor of the State of West Virginia.” Favede was also named the recipient of The Linsly Science Award, given to that member of the Senior Class who has attained the highest cumulative average in sciences during her three year Upper School career at Linsly including first in AP Physics and recipient of the “President’s Education Award” which is intended to recognize students who have attained a high level of academic achievement while pursuing a solid core of academic courses. Favede carried a perfect unweighted 4.0 GPA throughout her high school academic career and completed all ten of the ten AP courses offered at Linsly.

Cecelia is a three season athlete and has earned eleven varsity letters in her high school career in nine different sports including volleyball, basketball, competition choir, tennis, swimming, softball and cheering.

Cecelia served as a Captain of the Junior Engineering Technical Society (JETS) earning two state championships. She has served as an officer of the Linsly Forensics Team.

She is a two time gold medalist in the Latin National Exam, is a member of the Classics Club, and served as Treasurer of the West Virginia Junior Classical League. Favede also is a member of the Multicultural Club, Math Club, Invisible Children’s Club and the Drama Club at Linsly.

Favede has attended the National Leadership Conference at the University of Notre Dame and studied at the Baldwin Wallace Conservatory of Music for the National Summer Music Institute.

She is a member of St. Mary’s Church of St. Clairsville where she serves as a cantor, acolyte and a member of the youth group advisory board.

Favede will also represent The Linsly School in the OVAC Queen of Queens Pageant in July of 2012.

“It was down to Notre Dame, Duke and Ohio State,” Favede said. “This scholarship basically sealed the deal.” “A college education at no cost what so ever is basically unheard of in this day; I am honored and truly blessed.”

Favede will be attending The Ohio State University Honor’s Program where she intends to pursue a double major in neuro-psychology and opera with a pre-med track. She was also awarded the Ohio State University Provost Scholarship, the United States Achievement Academy Scholarship, NSMA National Science Merit Award, the United States Achievement Academy All-American Scholar, Albert A. Christ Scholarship and was a finalist for the Notre Dame Hesburgh Yusko Scholars Program.