Vargo to receive alumni award

ST. CLAIRSVILLE – Dr. Dianna Vargo, superintendent of Ohio County Schools, will receive the distinguished alumni award during the St. Clairsville High School Alumni Association’s 21st annual picnic Saturday, July 27, at the J.B. Martin Recreation Center, St. Clairsville.

The picnic is scheduled from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m., and Vargo, a 1977 graduate of St. Clairsville High School, will be honored during a program at 11 a.m.

An open house for high school tours will be held from noon until 2 p.m.

After being graduated from St. Clairsville High School, Vargo earned a bachelor’s degree in mathematics from Ohio University in 1981, a master of arts in science/mathematics education from Wheeling Jesuit College in 1987, a master of arts degree in education administration from West Virginia University in 1993 and a doctorate in educational leadership from WVU in 2009.

Vargo, a Wheeling resident, began her teaching career at Bishop Donahue High School in McMechen and at West Liberty State College before entering the Ohio County School System in 1983 as a math teacher at Wheeling Park High School.

While at Wheeling Park, she coached cross country and track.

She later served as an assistant principal and was named as principal of Wheeling Park High School in 2001. In 2005, she was selected as assistant superintendent of Ohio County Schools and served in that post until the summer of 2009 when she was appointed as deputy superintendent of Ohio County Schools. She continued in that post until being named as superintendent.

In 2001, Vargo joined the Ohio Valley Athletic Conference as an Executive Board member and became OVAC president in 2007.

In addition to serving on the OVAC Executive Board, Vargo currently is on the Oglebay Institute Board, Salvation Army Board of Directors, Easter Seals Board of Directors, Wheeling YMCA Board of Directors and the Wheeling Hall of Fame Board Officers. She also is a member of the Civitan of Wheeling.