Chickerella to be inducted to state hoop hall of fame

A 1947 graduate of Yorkville High School will receive a prestigious, and well-deserved, honor today.

Vince Chickerella was a coaching legend in central Ohio. He will be honored, along with 14 other individuals and two teams, when they are inducted into the Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame at the 9th annual ceremony inside the Greater Columbus Convention Center.

He will become the fourth member from the Ohio Valley. Previously inducted were Wellsville standout Clarence “Bevo” Francis and former Ohio State University products John Havlicek (Bridgeport) and Allan Hornyak (St. John Central).

Chickerella won state championships while coaching at Linden McKinley (1956-68) and St. Francis de Sales (1984-87). During a three-year stint at Hilliard, his teams won 47 games. The Martins Ferry native, who passed away in 2011 at age 81, won 299 games with a .722 winning percentage at the high school level. His teams won 10 sectional titles, six districts and two regionals.

After moving to the college level, Chickerella coached Capital University’s basketball team for 10 years, winning three Ohio Athletic Conference championships and made two NCAA regional appearances. His record at Capital was 179-72.

In addition to Chickerella, the class also includes: Brian Agler, Dean Chance, Helen Darling, Henry Finkel, Walter Harrop, Sr., Dennis Hopson, D’Artis Jones, Ed Jucker, Helen Ludwig, Joe Pangrazio (official), Campy Russell, Jerry Scheve, Georgia Schweitzer and Nick Weatherspoon.

Also, the Wright State University, 1983 men’s NCAA Division II national champions and the Wilmington College, 2004 women’s NCAA Division III national champions will be honored.

The keynote speaker will be Agler, who will give remarks on behalf of the class.

He is the head coach of the WNBA’s Seattle Storm, which won the 2010 WNBA Championship.

He was also part of the 1977 Wittenberg University team that won the NCAA national championship and was named Ohio Athletic Conference player of the year.

It was previously announced that Katie Smith was the recipient of the Ohio Heritage Award. She has graciously asked to receive the award in person, so the committee postponed presentation of the award until she can attend. She is serving as an assistant coach with the New York Liberty and their first game of the season is also today.

Additionally, two deserving graduating high school seniors, Megan Thomas and Jansten Locke, will be presented with $1,000 scholarships.

The Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame was founded in 2006. It recognizes the achievements of both male and female basketball players in high school, college, and professional basketball, successful coaches on all levels, and those who have impacted the game along the way.

The induction ceremony is a celebration of basketball, its rich history, and those who have contributed to the game in Ohio.